The butter wouldn’t melt so I put it in the coffee …

Ok, here’s one of those nebulous I’m-not-quite-awake-yet blogs that you may or may not find amusing. And/or informative …

There’s a new craze out there. Ok, maybe not a craze exactly, but it’s definitely a “thing.”

Here’s where Mom would say, “If somebody told you to jump off a bridge …” But there’s also a principle of recovery (from whatever you’re suffering) that says you should try new things. I’d also qualify that there are some things you ought not to try. (Happy, Mom?)

And some things are relatively harmless. This particular thing is butter coffee. I’m not going to waste my time explaining it, when there’s another, perfectly good, nebulous, I’m-not-awake-yet blog about it. In fact, the blog is excellent, and explains the principles behind it. Kudos to the writer.

I know, I’m getting to it. Basically, it’s where you put quality butter in your quality coffee, and it’s supposed to be good for you (Shades of Mikey: “Some cereal; supposed to be good for you…”).

 Ok I tried it (the butter coffee, I mean). I figured, why not? I had plenty of time this morning, and no one would be the wiser if I got grouchy about it. One of the advantages of sort-of living alone.

First, I made my regular coffee the regular way. Maxwell House in my Black and Decker drip coffee maker. I know, not froo froo, but I didn’t have the special Bulletproof coffee and coffeemaker in the video.

Then, since I normally take half-and-half in my coffee, I poured some into the blender. Thought that was pretty clever. Yes, I’ve heard that adding creamer to things does not do much for your health. So what. I then added a cup’s worth of brewed coffee, and, grimacing, I put in the requisite two tablespoons of quality (Kerrygold Irish) butter. Blending it together very briefly, I then poured the mixture into my mug.

It was creamy on top and looked pretty yummy, again, a froo-froo kind of thing. Now, ordinarily, my policy is not to do anything to my coffee. Just get out of my way, or hand me the mug. But like I said, no one was around to see my pain. I thought it would be ok.

Unfortunately, the process of blending cooled the coffee too much; more than my creamer usually does. It was then I remembered that the guy who demonstrates this (while marketing aforementioned coffee) pre-warms the blender jar. So I zapped the butter coffee in the micro for 15 seconds, thus removing any potential health benefits aforeto attributed to said butter coffee. Oh well (sarcastic tone of voice, accompanied by requisite shrug).

Sip. Hmm. Sip again. Tasted like cocoa without the sugar, so I added some (Sugar. And I don’t drink coffee with sugar). Sip. Smack lips. Tilt head. As any self-respecting gourmand would do.

My conclusion? It’s more like an afternoon treat than something designed to wake you abruptly. Which is what coffee is for. My usual process in the morning is to push the darn button and wait.

In essence, I think this butter coffee is kind of a waste of great butter AND mediocre coffee. Health benefits or no. Besides,  I’m not into things that will make me healthier. Ask anyone

The guy who markets this says there’s so much more to it than flavor. It’s about health, and energy, and a special “Bulletproof” kit for $49.00 … Kit includes a special oil… Wait. Do I hear a rattler rattling? 

You can try it if you want.

Me? I’m just gonna have me a plain ole cup of coffee… and wash out that stupid blender jar when I’m a little more awake.

One thought on “The butter wouldn’t melt so I put it in the coffee …

  1. Kitt O'Malley

    Hilarious anecdote. Thank you! I’m sure that your doctor would disagree that there were benefits to drinking butter, since it is a saturated fat. Then again, now the pros and cons of eating saturated fats are being debated as we speak: American Heart Association vs. Paleo Diet movement. I do know this: if I do not eat at all… I will die. So, I do eat. What I eat… hopefully it’s good enough to keep me going as long as possible. By the way, I take my coffee with sweetened vanilla flavored coconut milk creamer. Yummy. Lots of saturated fat and sugar. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

