How do you maintain your grip on reality?

Great blog on what to trust when you’re depressed. I know it’s not my own thoughts and opinions of myself! Those are warped. (The reblogs don’t mean I’ve given up – but see “It’s Nice To Share” at https://kbailey373.wordpress.com/2014/11/03/its-nice-to-share/

karenwriteshere

About a year ago, I wrote a letter to my future self. It was barely three months after what had been my debilitating bout of depression to date, and I was a little nervous. To realize that for eight out of twelve months I could have been so wrong about so many things, so blind to so many truths, so caught up in the half-lies of my distorted reality — it was a world-shattering realization. (In my previous post, I write in greater detail about the distorted thought patterns of a depressed person.)

I say world-shattering because most of us grew up being told to believe in ourselves, that if we believed something about ourselves then that’s true. Or at least, that what we see in ourselves is supposed to be more valid than what others see in us. Never let anyone else have the final say. They are but naysayers. Trust your heart. 

View original post 1,075 more words

Leave a Reply

