Bipolar Disorder, My Biggest Competitor

For those of you out there who have mental illness, like I do, this article will interest you. My greatest lament since I have been disabled is, “I used to be an ICU nurse, and I was good at it!” As if that means that now I am nothing. I know I am not “nothing,” and if I would quit lingering in the past I might get somewhere! Former Olympian Amy Gamble (photo, above) talks about a similar issue.

Shedding Light on Mental Illness

It’s no secret that I have struggled with bipolar disorder for several years. What may be less known is that I have also fought hard to overcome numerous setbacks and personal losses as a result of my illness. I don’t like that I have had to deal with an illness as cruel as bipolar disorder can be, but the more I focus on how unfair it is the less time I have to live a full life.

I know for sure I am not the only person who has suffered because of bipolar disorder. There are many kindred spirits out there who can relate. So I dedicate this post to all of you reading, looking for some words that may bring peace to your heart.

You see, I know a great deal about believing in the American Dream and living that dream to some extent. I also know first hand…

View original post 555 more words

5 thoughts on “Bipolar Disorder, My Biggest Competitor

  1. daintylittlesecretsblog

    Hey, It’s Abigayle from F&F. Things didn’t work out the way I originally planned and unfortunately I had to move my blog.

    Like

    Reply
      1. daintylittlesecretsblog

        Its the one i’m posting from. I just went through all the garbage last night so its brand new. I dont have anything up yet but I wanted to let people I care about on F&F know i’m making a move.

        Like

        Reply

Leave a Reply

