I don’t wanna … talk about it

One Ringy Dingy

Two Ringy Dingy

Is this the party to whom I am speaking?

Snort…

But seriously. Phones are not funny! I ree-hee-hee-lee cringe when I get a phone call. Do you? I heard someone say recently that that is a form of social anxiety. I wonder. When I get on the phone I feel trapped. If I have my druthers (and guess what, I do! lol) I won’t answer it. But being the good and polite girl that I am, eventually I will call them back.

But I hate it!

I do have a brother from down South who calls me daily and I (sigh) answer. But not if he calls more than once! Nonono! I have my limits haha.

I used to talk for hours to my girlfriends when I was growing up. And a boy?? Oh boy! Hours and hours!

But now I see that caller ID and I just talk to that thing, turn it upside down so I can’t see it, but I won’t answer it! Oh no! Not until I’m good and ready!

What is your “favorite” “phobia” (I don’t know what to call it)

29 thoughts on “I don’t wanna … talk about it

  1. mybipolardisorder

    1st- similar to yours. My rationalization is that I’m avail when Im avail, not on the callers time. Possibly weird but I dont care…😜
    2nd- sometines driving. I work myself into a frenzy and catrastaohice the possibilities (pseudoseizures mostly but crazy, anniying drivers)

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. Bemused

    Ringing phones /door bells /knocks scare the hell out of me. I went without a phone from Jan 2010 until Feb 2014. I no have a cell phone but I turn it on when I want to use it. I never answer it.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. kbailey374 Post author

      I don’t know HOW many times I have changed my ringtone, trying to find one that won’t startle me! Finally I just settled for having it on silent. I can’t even bear to have it on vibrate.

      Liked by 3 people

      Reply
  3. roughghosts

    Funny, answering the phone does not bother me, though I do screen what looks like sales/telemarketers. But making calls can put me in cold sweats. Especially right now while I am trying to follow up on my disability application or coordinate support. I can think of a thousand reasons to put off making the call.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  4. pennypinchingpeach

    I can’t stand to feel like I am stuck anywhere without a choice. Drives me batty! The only time I’ve been kinda okay with it was when I was in the hospital after birth, because I honestly didn’t feel well enough to care that I couldn’t leave. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. stephieopolis

    I have always feared spiders, but a few years ago, I learned that psycho collectors and breeders and such, have eggs shipped in the mail. The mail..So now I fear the mail. I doubt if there’s even a technical term for that.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  6. painkills2

    I have a cheap cellphone that cost $20 every month — in my opinion, not worth it. I rarely talk on the phone, and because of my TMJ pain, talking is painful. And since I turned it off, I haven’t missed it. (I could say the same about cable TV.)

    No more talk of spiders!

    Like

    Reply
      1. painkills2

        In Texas, we had really big roaches. But since I moved to New Mexico, all I see are spiders… deadly ones, too. In fact, there was one on my toilet seat last month. (Good thing I turned on the light beforehand.)

        Reading and thinking about bugs is bad for my insomnia 🙂

        Like

        Reply
              1. painkills2

                I do breathing exercises — sometimes it helps. I also sleep with music on, so I can focus on the music instead of the endless loop of thoughts bouncing around in my brain. I also have a little jar of fragrance oil beside my bed (couch), so that once in awhile, I get a whiff of… tonight, it’s watermelon.

                I know, not much help… sorry.

                Like

                Reply
  7. tristyncoker

    I also don’t like phone calls; usually my head hurts to begin with, but the ringing of the phone, let alone the talking on the other end will make it so much worse! I have a younger sister who just doesn’t get it, and will still call… I tell her to text me and I’ll call her if/when I am feeling up for talking! I can almost always message her on Facebook, or text her back on the phone, but to listen to her… OUCH! I am right there with you…

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

Leave a Reply

