More on Edison, less on coffee …

(I’ll explain. and re: the photo, no I do not iron, but I do do that backwards salute quite often.)

This morning I woke up and half-consciously pushed the button to my coffee maker, and,

nothing happened.

Or rather, a lot happened. I pushed the button off, then on again. Plugged and unplugged it. Tried another outlet. Opened the top to make sure there was water in the reservoir. Wiggled the rubber doo dah through which the water is supposed to glug glug push push …

And nearly cried.

And then I remembered that all I have is $3. on my credit card. IF indeed the card would actually go through with only $3. on it. Which, historically, might not.

Whined about it in a joking manner on Facebook.

Then let people know I really WAS NOT kidding.

Got a number of ha ha’s, and two people offered to buy me a new maker.

Either they love me, or they are afraid of me.

Ate breakfast, then decided to try the credit card at Dunkin Donuts, where it did (PRAISE THE LORD!) work!

Came home and posted that I had spend said $3. on Dunkin Donuts.

And as the Bible says, a number of people who had grieved with me then celebrated with me.

Then I finished the coffee, played on facebook some more, then did the Bible reading I was unable to think about doing until I was properly caffeinated. Listened to some spiritual music including:

which made me cry, as always. I spent some time in prayer, still crying. I have issues. Did you know I have issues? lol…

Then started reading some of the emails I had in my inbox, made a few replies, and then posted to one of the reply-ers:

Thomas Edison‘s teachers said he was “too stupid to learn anything.” He was fired from his first two jobs for being “non-productive.” As an inventor, Edison made 1,000 unsuccessful attempts at inventing the light bulb. When a reporter asked, “How did it feel to fail 1,000 times?” Edison replied, “I didn’t fail 1,000 times. The light bulb was an invention with 1,000 steps.”

This is a little different from the quote I posted in another of my blogs. Anyway it is still a good way of looking at all our failures and false starts.

I guess.

Well anyway, hope y’all are having a good day. Mine started rather jerkily and un-thankfully, but I am doing ok now.

12 thoughts on “More on Edison, less on coffee …

  1. tmcasciano

    I can relate to your coffee problem! I’m the only coffee drinker in the house and when my Keurig recently stopped working, my kids and husband kept telling me how sorry they were (as if it had truly died!)

    Like

    Reply
    1. kbailey374 Post author

      haha – well they were absolutely right in doing so πŸ™‚

      As I said I spend my last $3. on an extra large dunkin donuts coffee, at least tomorrow morning I will have had some WARNING that there is no coffee lol.

      Like

      Reply
  2. georgetownrose

    Bless you for your posts. I’m not bi-polar, but I have issues and I know what it is to trust God when Monday is more like Saturday, when I need a nap after breakfast, when caffeine won’t help but only makes things worse…You articulate in a way that includes an undercurrent of hope and joy in spite of the battles. So glad for your posts. πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

