Hap … Well, it’s (almost) Valentine’s Day. That’s all I have to say about that …

Well, not really. I can say more. Like …

I once had a boyfriend who told me, never get married on Valentine’s Day. He’d done it, and now he was a single parent for whom Valentine’s day would always be a bitter pill to swallow.

Now in hindsight, why would he tell someone he supposedly loved not to get married on Valentine’s Day, which leads one to believe he did not plan on being part of that marriage? Yeah, I’m not the smartest tulip on the turnip truck…

But also, he was right.

Valentine’s Day for me has always had some bitterness for me, because I ignored the now ex-boyfriend’s advice, and got married anyway. Twice. To the same person.

Now I can understand the first time. Dewey-eyed and romantic, in a hurry for life to begin, pregnant…

The second time, thinking that the major problems we had the first time – his active alcoholism – my active depression – were no longer a consideration.

Unfortunately the main problem was not fixed. We were still the same people.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

(Restrains self, barely)

6 thoughts on “Hap … Well, it’s (almost) Valentine’s Day. That’s all I have to say about that …

Leave a Reply

