Now that I’m no longer depressed …

I was “this close” to posting a picture of myself (I’m too shy!) from back in Autumn, when I was actually doing pretty good. In fact, I was kind of bragging about it, that my meds were pretty stable and, yeah right. Well, anyway, if you took a picture of me this morning, I would be wearing the same clothes as yesterday, sort of, and I would be jonesing to go back to bed.

But still, yesterday I woke up in a fairly good mood, and I am cautiously optimistically looking forward to a few things. SPRING (pic from 5 years ago), in case you did not get the memo in the last few posts I’ve written. Lunch with a friend today. Saturday I got through Dad’s birthday (he’s been gone 7 years. 7 YEARS??). And I am pretty sure I will get through the anniversary of Mom’s death (March 12, will be 2 years). Oh sure no sweat  😦

Today I already chalked off something I wanted to accomplish (it’s only 8 a.m!). And I found a phone number I’ve been looking for for two weeks! Kyule!

So what else is going on this fine cloudy Maine morning? I don’t know but I do know that I was happy to be happy yesterday even for a few moments.

I don’t want to kid myself that being happy yesterday means that I am cured. I’m pretty much sure I am not, lol. I don’t want to kid myself that this uptick in mood necessarily won’t change to hypomania, sigh.

Oh I had so much to say when I clicked on the “+” sign for a new post.

I do want to thank you guys for posting your posts and for commenting your comments! Sa-WEET!

Ok, now that I’ve had my coffee (one of my favorite things) I think I’ll go back to bed for a while … oh what’s that on my Facebook?

13 thoughts on “Now that I’m no longer depressed …

  1. Zoe

    I woke up from a nightmare. Had 3.5 hours of sleep so I may be going back to bed soon too.

    I’m also looking forward to Spring. Minus the allergies and high electric bill. I could do without those. Hope you can take a lot more photos this year. hugs

    Like

    Reply
    1. kbailey374 Post author

      HUGS BACK! Usually in Spring I take loads of pix, esp if I am hypomanic. Didn’t end up going back to bed, have a lunch date and didn’t have time. Maybe this afternoon I can sleep a little. Have a great day!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Kitt O'Malley

    Okay, took the time to reread (or read rather than skim) your post. You take the time to read mine, so I owe you the same respect. I, too, have had symptoms of hypomania and am experiencing grief, though my grief is for a newly deceased in-law, not my mother or father.

    But, since you are a Christian, I want to approach what we are experiencing right now both biologically and religiously. Biologically, springtime triggers hypomania and mania in us with bipolar. Biologically, spring is a cacophony of life and the noise that accompanies that activity – anything from increased hours of daylight to the birds building nests and making themselves known loudly and clearly that they are mating and starting anew – all that springtime bursting of life, is stimulating, and for some of us, overstimulating.

    Now, on a spiritual level, on a religious level, we are approaching Easter. Easter. In many Christian denominations (not all) the forty days preceding Easter (Lent) are used to commemorate Jesus’ forty days fasting in the desert which preceded his public ministry. In those forty days Jesus confronted the devil. Why do you think that some Christian denominations used those forty days, the forty days preceding Easter, to commemorate Jesus resisting Satan’s temptation? There is something that happens to us, something we feel, something with which we struggle, as we are awaken to our calling, so to speak.

    At the end of those forty days comes the apex of the Christian liturgical calendar – Easter, a time of rebirth. HUGE. Now, not only Christianity recognizes the importance of spring. Many religions have spring-time rites, which I think I’ve got to write a post about. Sorry for the long comment. Spring is HUGE. Think of it as your time in the desert leading up to rebirth. We are continually tested, continually in recovery, and continually reborn. God bless you.

    Like

    Reply
    1. kbailey374 Post author

      Thank you! Well, I know there are a ton of blogs to read and we can’t always read every word, so thank you for the thought you put into this response!

      I don’t know if I mentioned it anywhere but my doc very hesitantly increased my Abilify to try to kick me out of this depression I’ve been in. Hesitantly because of the biological factors you mentioned and she doesn’t want it to trigger hypomania. I have never really given thought to the spiritual aspects being potentially triggering as well, very very interesting points to ponder! wow!

      And just to update, I am feeling pretty even keeled in both ways (phys and spiritual)
      at the moment and for that I’m thankful. I know it bears watching …

      thank you so much Kitt!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
          1. Kitt O'Malley

            Still working on it. Plan to finish it tomorrow. Need to research other spring rites, for I know that Christianity and Judaism are not the only religions that celebrate spring.

            Like

            Reply

Leave a Reply

