Will Attend …

Well I respectfully decline, once again, to live half a life/existence and wait until the hour of my death amen.

I want my life back! Well, I want that part of my life that is filled with joy, with ability for my body to obey my will to want and to do.

I just started an outpatient program yesterday to help me with my depression. It’s from 9-3 daily and consists of group therapy, education, occupational therapy, and just in general hanging out with someone other than my own fine depressed self. Means up and bathed and dressed and there by 9 which is a huge stretch all by itself, lol… but it’s good for me.

I’ve been through it before when I was really depressed, and a few times when I was manic too. The staff is really great and many of them have worked there for years, so it is almost comforting to need help (lol)

I enjoyed reading your blogs tonight. πŸ™‚ Keep going!

I will be back at it when I can

15 thoughts on “Will Attend …

  1. gentlekindness

    It is good to change something, rather than just going on autopilot. Doing something like this is change in your daily routine and schedule. It is both a sensory difference and a mental difference. That alone will probably be helpful.

    The worst thing we can do when in depression is to stay with an autopilot routine, but of course that is usually all we have the energy for.
    You have managed to summon enough energy up to reach out for help, sign up for this program and begin to make the physical movements (showering, dressing, leaving the house) that are required to attend this new activity.

    I am very proud of you for advocating for yourself and for showing kindness to yourself by making your mental health such a priority that you made a big change in your day to day routine like this.

    New experience helps our brains to function better and come out of the autopilot mode. I am struggling to get out of my own autopilot and you are an inspiration.
    You have many people here who care about you and will support you about this program.

    Much Love,
    Annie

    Like

    Reply
    1. kbailey374 Post author

      I appreciate your thoughtful reply! I have really taken my relative health for granted I think, maybe that is the lesson. Regardless I am glad there is such help available to me; not true for some of us. Thank you so much for caring!

      Like

      Reply
  2. DotedOn

    This post made me smile πŸ™‚
    The decision you took to start the program is HUGE, specially if you are depressed. I hope you find there all you need and if you don’t get the part of your life you are missing, make the rest of your life be the best πŸ™‚ ❀
    hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

