So Rich Full and Free

Yesterday in my partial hospital program we saw a video that accompanied a workshop done by Mary Ellen Copeland (author of The Depression Workbook: a Guide for living with Depression and Manic Depression).

One of the things I responded to was that she said her program was geared to people “whose lives are not as rich and full as they want it to be.” I cried.

That would be me. That is what I am looking for and what depression/bipolar steals from me. I know some believe that the Lord, the Bible, and church ought to provide that all on their own, but I believe God has also trained up ad provided people who know mental illness and have compassion for them.

It is my dream that the church will seek to provide more of that compassion and understanding.

One organization that admittedly I don’t know much about is helping toward that.  It is called the Mental Health Grace Alliance and is training people in the church to help those with a mental illness. 🙂 I’m interested to see what they are able to accomplish. They are not in my area and if I was well enough I would work toward that. That’s the problem with these kinds of issues – can we be strong and capable for long enough to fight for ourselves and one another! I am grateful to those who can, and do!

Ok, enough for this morning, I can’t believe I am functioning enough to write this early in the day, lol…

7 thoughts on “So Rich Full and Free

  1. blahpolar

    “the Lord, the Bible, and church ought to provide that all on their own”

    That has never made sense to me, or there’d be no point doing anything and free will would be completely superfluous. It’s a major logic fail and probably makes god roll his eyes.

    Like

    Reply
  2. lilypup

    My church would provide more if I would let them. I need to get out there and advocate for myself. They are very open to the LGBT (did I get that right?) community and I know they would embrace mental health issues as well. I have just been pretty quiet. I do believe God is supportive and accepts me as I am. http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    Like

    Reply
    1. kbailey374 Post author

      I know that when I am stronger I’ll be able to advocate for myself a little better, but isn’t the point of being ill and having a faith community that they will help you? “Do I have to teach them everything?” lol. Thanks Lily 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Laura Droege

    Yes! The church needs to be more open to the mentally ill. And not just open, but honest: there are church members who are mentally ill, and there are pastors who are as well. I read a recent study that said at least a quarter of the surveyed pastors wrestled with depression, and many of those didn’t feel they could be open with even the church leadership about it. That has got to change!

    I’m sorry you’re dealing with depression, etc., right now. Hang in there, okay?

    Like

    Reply
    1. kbailey374 Post author

      thank you so much Laura! and I’m kind of “forced” to partake of secular health services which at times are truly inappropriate. So more than for myself I want to do something 😦 Thank you for your comments!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

