Did you forget already?

Yes, you. You are loved, no matter what. And you matter! Things that I heard over and over this week as I attended my partial hospital treatment program for mental illness.

I had determined that I was going to write you this brilliant summary of things I had learned that you might also find useful, but dang! I had too much fun today, and tomorrow will be very busy. So, I will just say that the program is helping, I’m learning a lot, and, I matter.

I did write a post on Facebook for my Christian brothers and sisters:

Many Christians who have depression, anxiety, OCD, or other mental health issues are silent about it. We may feel embarrassed or stigmatized, but these issues are real, medical problems, with emotional, mental, physical, and spiritual effects. It doesn’t mean “Boo hoo I broke a fingernail,” or “I don’t have enough chairs for Christmas dinner.” It doesn’t refer to the natural sadness we feel when we lose a loved one, or experience other life situations, although mental illness may also be involved. These diagnoses can be prolonged and even deadly when left untreated (For an example, see http://www.actlocallywaco.org/2015/03/24/hope-and-healing-regaining-life-from-major-depression/).

One thing that helps me with all of my struggles, including mental health issues, is the Word of God. In Psalm 23, the Bible speaks of the valley of the shadow of death. Those of us with mental illness walk that fine line all the time, between life and hope, and discouragement and even suicide. But God walks with us. We may not be aware, but He is there all the time, and ready to help and guide us.

There are also many people who can help us return to good health and a closer walk with God. It may be our pastor or a counselor, and sometimes a doctor is needed when we need medication and other treatment modalities. I believe that God has provided these resources, and we need not be ashamed if they are needed. This doesn’t mean we just go off on our own; we are still guided by the Word of God in our daily lives.

Psalm 23, as referred to above, is a great scripture to meditate upon:
1 The LORD is my shepherd ; I shall not want .
2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.
3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.
4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me
5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies : thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.
6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.

****

It seemed like what I wrote was going to promote a firestorm, and the first commenter did start out that way. It seemed she was saying that you don’t need medications, and said the whole usual blah blah … but in a later comment she started talking about oils and what not, and I’m like, wait a minute, that doesn’t jive with what you said initially. But I didn’t want to argue, so I just let it go. There were several other comments that were supportive and echoed what I had written.

So, kids, this is all you are going to get out of me this weekend, lol. Unless I can’t sleep later…

xo

58 thoughts on “Did you forget already?

            1. La Sabrosona

              I imagine it was a long waiting list? Referral from your psych? I have only 1 friend who’s gone to CAMH for treatment. She lives in T.O.

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
                    1. La Sabrosona

                      Trillium program was outpatient. It’s an excellent program. And I have the best counsellor/social worker. They offer psycho-educational “courses”. I took a few of them and benefited greatly. I didn’t need their team of psychiatrists and nurses etc just needed the counselling component.
                      The F**ked up part of my recovery is that I had to search for resources. My psychiatrist didn’t offer any. I literally printed the referral form from Trillium hospital website and gave it to my pdoc to sign and fax. It shouldn’t be that way, for the newly diagnosed to be wandering around searching for help.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. La Sabrosona

                      COMPLETELY unacceptable. Honestly if someone had whispered in my ear “Go on WordPress, there’s so many cool mental health bloggers” I would have heard that loud and clear and maybe would have gotten the support I was looking for.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. Julia Manuel

                      I understand…neither am I. My most challenging issue is the depression side of Bipolar II…been seeing my shrink for almost a year and still we’re experimenting with my meds…and I know we will for awhile yet be cuz what I’m on now isn’t working that well. Thankfully I have a very supportive husband and I love my shrink ☺

                      Liked by 1 person

                    4. La Sabrosona

                      So happy to hear you have solid support! The combo that’s worked for me is Epival and Wellbutrin. It’s such a pain to find the right combo.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    5. La Sabrosona

                      Yes, Epival is a mood stabilizer. That’s the brand, the drug is divalproex sodium. It’s an anti-convulsant too used for epilepsy patients.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    6. La Sabrosona

                      It’s the BEST combo. I’ve done many different kinds of anti-depressants and risperdal..different tranquilizers for extreme irritability, anger..a lot made me feel drunk…and with 2 little kids I can’t take care of them if I feel woozy.

                      If you have private insurance Wellbutrin XL (bupropion hydrochloride) is working for me. It’s a clean, extended release experience. Oh and it’s the only antidepressant that doesn’t interfere with my sex life.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    7. La Sabrosona

                      Ugh I know. Epival screwed me over with the weight thing, but I just need to be more disciplined…quitting smoking would be fantastic!

                      Liked by 1 person

                    8. Julia Manuel

                      Are you on Facebook? That’s the best way to reach me, we can PM each other. I rarely check my email ☺ Julia Melinda Manuel…I’m the only one there. It just struck me I don’t know your name! Lol

                      Like

                    9. La Sabrosona

                      I’d rather remain anonymous on the blog for now…just La Sabrosona or LS..LS is good enough here in the Blogosphere I think. But that would be weird in person. LOL

                      Liked by 1 person

                    1. La Sabrosona

                      Yeah when I was in total crisis-mode I lived in Mississauga. After LOTS of help and getting more stable I moved to Brampton. I went from seeing pdoc 2x/month to once/month and only one counsellor. At the time I had like 2 or 3 different kinds of counsellors/therapists and my pdoc. Was intense.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. La Sabrosona

                      At the moment, no. I hardly left the house in the winter, I was afraid to drive. I’m always open to learning more though. I’m way more independent now and I worked really hard to get here (my current mental/emotional state).

                      Liked by 1 person

                    1. kbailey374 Post author

                      La Sabrosanna, it is a wonder some of us survive with the number of us who fall through sometimes HUGE cracks in the system. Altho I will say up here in Maine the care is pretty darn good.

                      Like

  1. thereluctantbaptist

    I agree, k, God has provided all kinds of resources. Every good thing that helps is a gift from Him. Avail yourself of every bit of it, take Him by the hand and walk on sister. Because you DO matter and you ARE loved. And I like you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. cavellemartin

    This was comforting to read 🙂 In our times of darkness, many of us forget to have faith but there is hope out there. Thanks for sharing your positivity. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. peggyricewi

    You’ve been on my mind and heart a lot lately! I’m glad to know the outpatient program is going well. Thanks for your words about mental illness stigma in the church. It’s supposed to be a “place” for hurting people (I know church is not a place, it’s the body of believers!), and we need to learn more ways to reach out and welcome and minister to those who suffer. I had that privilege at my previous church – now looking for a new one (we moved states). In the meantime, I need to get back to regular blogging – about this very topic! Please know I’m praying for you – and have been – and wishing you wellness and Christ’s Peace as you heal from this episode.

    Like

    Reply
    1. kbailey374 Post author

      thank you so, so much! I think that this episode has really made a deep change in my heart to do something about this. I was going to just change churches but I am going to try to work on the staff a little more, and definitely come out of hiding myself! Hopefully it will not be so taboo – I mean, I did not do anything wrong! Why should I be ashamed?

      Hope you find a wonderful “church place” with some wonderful believers! xo

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

