YOU’RE a nurse … can you tell me …?

First off, I want to tell you bloggers, the ones I follow, that I love love love you! You make me laugh, think, cringe, and altogether be entertained and informed. Thank you and please keep writing!

Second of all – I was reminded yesterday of something that makes me cringe, awfully.

It’s when someone discovers that I’m a nurse.

They quickly get this gleam in their eye and I swear they make stuff up!

“Hey, will you look at this bump I have in my left armpit/groin/on my buttock?”

Or, even more terror invoking: “I/My aunt/My mother has been suffering this cough/rash/these symptoms …

Now I was a competent nurse in my day. I say “in my day” because I imposed an early retirement upon myself after my last manic episode resulted in my taking care of patients, not knowing I was in a dangerous state of mind. If I didn’t know something, I’d look it up, or consult someone. That’s a sign of genius I think – to know that you don’t know.

Anyway, I knew what I was doing 95% of the time, and I gave good care.

But inevitably, when someone asks me an opinion, it is not my area.

I worked in a lot of fields of nursing.

But not pediatrics. Not clinic nursing. Not maternity. And not “will you look at this thing I have?”

Not rashes.

And not the thing you have decided to ask me out of the blue.

Hence, the terror.

This is why I usually don’t tell people I’m a nurse. People assume I am a library of knowledge.

And it’s just not so.

I have my area of expertise but it’s never what you actually ask me.

So stop it!

16 thoughts on “YOU’RE a nurse … can you tell me …?

  1. kbailey374 Post author

    Oh man, you have no idea. An issue or a need comes up and suddenly I flip into overdrive haha… Got to fix it, help them, walk them, comfort them … on and on ad infinitum.. almost literally pushing people out of the way so I can help, lol.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. blahpolar

    Hi, please take a look at this points to head it seems to have developed imbalances and craters and black holes. I have become a mystery to myself. I refuse to see a doctor or take their evil medications, so kindly fix it all by using essential oils. Oh – my tennis elbow is playing up too. Tyvm.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. kbailey374 Post author

      Oh my gooness made me laugh! Yeah, “Nurse, heal thyself!” Luke 4:23 And he said unto them, Ye will surely say unto me this proverb, Physician, heal thyself: whatsoever we have heard done in Capernaum, do also here in thy country.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Zoe

    BUT I NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THIS CRATER-LIKE RASH.

    I get it too. When I tell people I was in school for Fine Arts I have them asking “can you draw my cat/lover/idol?!” Or “give me a demo!”

    CRINGE

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. KatieComeBack

    Being in HR I’ll get business and policy questions…typically along the lines of “XXX happened at work, that’s not legal, is it?” And then they usually don’t like my answer, because they desperately WANTED it to be illegal….Sigh. I feel ya.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

