Thou shalt entertain thyself

I’m reading this blog and it goes like in this direction, and I’m like, uh huh.

And then it goes in that direction and I’m like, yah.

Then it goes in another direction and i”m like, huh, what?

And then! in yet another direction!

And I’m like, uh, I’m not really following you…

And then the light bulb goes off.

“I’m not really following you.” as in blog post? As in follow?

Ok well I guess you just had to be there.

Hope you had a nice Easter!   🙂

17 thoughts on “Thou shalt entertain thyself

    1. kbailey374 Post author

      thank you! which photo? they appear to rotate randomly even each time you look at the same page (I have it set up that way but didn’t realize there would not be an “assigned” photo each time)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. kbailey374 Post author

          I like it a lot. What’s funny is, my focus was on the water, which was BRILLIANTLY sparkling that day. The photo didn’t capture that. But it got the shadow, which I did not even notice til after I downloaded it. Weird huh?

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. painkills2

            I think the photo captures the sparkling water very well — it’s what gives the shadows even more emphasis. And I also don’t always notice shadows until I get home and look at the photos. It’s like finding… a surprise. )

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
    1. kbailey374 Post author

      Of course, thinking I thought I knew what you meant but not entirely sure I looked it up. Even this definition made me laugh 😉

      meta
      When you create new layers of abstraction between the thing or event, you are becoming more meta.

      For example: A footnote that is needed to explain another footnote is meta.

      The problem with being meta is that if you add sufficient layers of abstraction or complexity between the original event and the convenient abstractions you create to clarify or explain it, you eventually lose all connection to the original. Generally, you need no more than two or three levels in writing.

      Too much meta in your writing leads to meta fog.

      In writing, this means your writing sucks.
      Man, I need notes to explain the notes to my notes for my thesis!” – “That’s very meta. Perhaps you should rewrite it?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Kitt O'Malley

    You had me hooked and following you through the zigs and zags and then… the punch line of: “Ok well I guess you just had to be there.”
    and the always welcome: “Hope you had a nice Easter! :)”

    I just had to chuckle.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

