Fiddling with my whoosiewhatses

First off, as I keep telling you, I love you guys, my blogging friends!: My readers, and those I read. I truly do. But I am not getting anything done here, and I may as well eliminate one of my excuses right now, so that I can move on to a newer, or truer, one.

I have almost 250 followers, hallelujah! And I have a policy of following those who follow me. I try to follow those who “like” me. Who comment on me. Who even blink at me. It’s only fair.

Soooo when I open my gmail I am amazed/happy/overwhelmed. And I open my gmail many times a day.

Before you jump up and say it let me tell you that I just did what most of you were going to say: I changed the notification whoosiewhatses on my reader.

So, from now on, I will go to my dashboard, go to my reader, and read.

(Sounds good, anyway).

At least that way my email account will be less intimidating!

I really want to follow/read every single one of you! Every time you post! I do! But for now I will have to just do what I can.

Your mission, then, is to jostle your way into the proper position, so that you are within reach before I open my reader, and before the clock says “STOP! You have this, this, this, and this to accomplish before you finish your day!”

Namely:

  1. Read and study the Bible
  2. Pray
  3. Restore/maintain some kind of order in your, I mean my, apartment.
  4. Which should maybe be 3: WRITE at least 1000 words or EDIT at least 2000 words or EVEN both.
  5. Which means I need to get organized and USE the spreadsheet one of my writer friends sent me that will help me to do so.
  6. I am sure there is something else I am forgetting, well, I suppose, my other “work,” my hygienic pursuits, maintain my IRL friendships, oh you know… the other not so important stuff.
  7. Am I through yet? I’ve got to pee.

Um, yeah. That is a lot more “thises” than I listed; sorry.

Anyway. Please don’t take this the wrong way, but I really have gotten disorganized since I started blogging, and I need to get back into life! As June Allyson would say…

And hey! You all need to too! So don’t you be pointing no finners at me! After all, if I was writing as much as I was apposed to, I wouldn’t be talking dis … er, this way!

10 thoughts on “Fiddling with my whoosiewhatses

  1. Zoe

    You have to do what you have to do. I don’t have email notifications enabled. I just read from my dash. That explains why I miss some entries sometimes. But it’s something I adopted since my previous blogging venture where I burned out entirely due to the volume of messages from my readers that I responded to individually. I was spending an average of 30 hours a week just on getting back to everyone. I nearly died. That’s why I set specific limits this time around. Because I’m doing the mental health dance now I am a little more particular on who I follow. I have severe triggers when it comes to terminal illness, eating disorders, and (street) drug use — so I have to shy away from those blogs for the sake of my mental health.

    You’re on the right track balancing your blogging and life. I personally applaud you. Stay focused. 🙂

    (excuse errors. autocorrect hates me)

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
  2. Sean Mungin

    Because of the demands of life for my time, I find that it’s almost next to impossible to read everything. I try my best to get a few in daily. But I was just saying earlier tonight that I have to get back on a schedule. For example, I went to bed about an hour and forty minutes ago…but somehow I’ve found my way onto you blog…smh

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. peggyricewi

    I love your plan, and am going to copy you. I’m still new to this blogging world, and if I miss a few days on email, I am so behind reading posts. Then I feel like I have to read them all, which I don’t have time to do! Maybe I’ll keep a couple favorites (yours is one) and put the rest through my reader. I can spend my time reading rather than writing, too, and that’s becoming a problem because I’m using it as an excuse – “I ran out of time to write.” But I want to write, and the longer I wait, the harder it becomes. I feel less and less qualified to write. I start harshly judging myself.
    I’m sorry – I didn’t mean to make my comment all about me! But I AM taking your wisdom and making some changes. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. DotedOn

    I also did that, I followed EVERY one who followed me, liked me… And I was reading each and every post too!! One day, I couldn’t handle it anymore… I opened the “Blog I follow” and stopped following more or less 70 blogs… I felt bad for about 1 hour and after that, it feels pretty good 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

