♪♫Doo bee dee bee teeeee!!! ♪♫

Not the greatest title, is it?

But it got your attention, because here you are, reading my post!

So. The title. Does this help? Doo bee D.B.T.

It refers to D.B.T., which stands for “D.ialectical B.ehavioral T.herapy:

Dialectical Behavioral Therapy is a research-based, cognitive-behavioral treatment originally developed by Marsha Linehan at the University of Washington, to help clients with the suicidal and self-harm behaviors often seen in Borderline Personality Disorder … DBT has since then been modified as a treatment for other complex and challenging mental disorders that involve emotional dysregulation. (from: http://mindfulnesstherapy.org/dbt/)

D.B.T. is not entirely new to me. I vaguely remember being in a DBT group about 5 years ago. I suppose if I’d had more presence of mind at the time it would have “taken” better, but I didn’t, and it didn’t. I’m not even sure I finished the course. Typically, a round of DBT requires about a year of group work and education.

That seems pretty overwhelming to me, even after all this time. But I’ve decided to try again. And here is where my AA training leaps to the rescue and reminds me:  “One Day At A Time, Sweet Jesus.” (ok, the “Sweet Jesus” comes from a great song, and was ad-libbed into the phrase; I need Him more than any of this!).

Why am I returning to DBT? Well, there have been times since attending the group the first time that my therapist has referred to a DBT skill. Almost every time, my response is, “Huh?” And I really think that reviewing all of the skills could be really useful. Having gone through a recent intensive program of recovery, I have decided that it is time.

I am disgusted with myself, honestly, that I have needed more help. But I forget one thing: the nature of my illness is that I have no control over it. I can advocate for myself, I can comply with treatment, and I can seek out what I need. But as to the underlying condition, I am not responsible. Shame has no place. I will say that again: shame has no place. For those of us with mental health issues, we must remember:

We have a mental illness. It is not our fault.

Fortunately, I have a really good therapist that I’ve had since ’03. I am also in a great DBT group now. Maybe next week I’ll do better with the homework.

And I believe that we are all doing the very best that we can.

That goes for me, too.

I’ll keep you posted!

12 thoughts on “♪♫Doo bee dee bee teeeee!!! ♪♫

  1. pennypinchingpeach

    You are right. Noone can choose their medical or mental conditions. They can only choose how to cope, treat and handle it. There is no shame when you are doing your best. I get post partum depression. I wouldn’t admit it with my first, but had no option other than admitting it (at least to my husband and doctors) with my second. Getting treatment made a world of difference. This time? I’m admitting it. I already have it, and the baby isn’t here…so whatever it is called when you’re still pregnant. I’d be on medication, but I won’t risk the baby’s health, so I am waiting until she is born.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. lydiaa1614

    I let myself be in denial for so very long that I had overcome my mental illnesses because I was doing so much better. But since I have been blogging, being honest with my followers (and myself), as well as reading the experiences of others, I have admitted that I still am and will always be suffering from mental illness. And in that I am feeling stronger and more free. I look forward to following your latest try with DBT. Jesus knows what both you and I need and we just need to keep our eyes on Him.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. kbailey374 Post author

      Mentally/intellectually I have lost something… there is a lot in recovery that I set aside thinking “I’m so over that,” lol… and had become very blasé about it all. Blogging has helped a lot in that regard! and in my willingness to work at it a little more! I appreciate your comment about Jesus, He does give us just what AND WHO we need 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Number twelve is the loveliest … | Walking After Midnight:

Leave a Reply

