Tha-RILLED today… :)

Tha-RILLED today.

Now as I typed that, I had a picture of Jo Anne Worley

saying that in my head. Anyone remember her? Sign in please! I bet she would be thrilled to still be remembered. Anyway…

Tha-RILLED! Why?

Well, I set 5 goals for today, and, I achieved them. Got right up from my rump shaped seat and did ’em.

  1. Did the dishes.
  2. Took a shower.
  3. Wrote. Yes, technically had to return to my rump-shaped seat but you know what I mean…
  4. Did DBT homework.
  5. Talked to God

Now looking at that list, it doesn’t look like a whole heck of a lot. But let me show you the list had I not set goals.

1.

Yes, that’s right. None of those things would have gotten done. Sure I would have fed my face, peed (see a previous post), played on Facebook. But seriously, that’s all I would have accomplished.

I’m excited. I could do this every day. Maybe make a new program for myself entitled “set 5 goals.” Wouldn’t that be great?

So why don’t I just stop there?

Because in my mind, it’s never good enough. If I can accomplish 5 goals a day, why not make it 6? Or 10?

And you all know what comes next.

Ahhhh I can’t do it. Why try. I’m no good anyway. It won’t last. And on and on ad infinitum.

Now why do I do that to myself?

Why can’t I just be tha-RILLED for having a good day?

So, back up, Kat. Take a deep breath. Look at that pretty, empty sink. Look at that marvelous word count. Realize that every time you practice DBT you are building skills to help you have the nice, full, rich, delicious life that you deserve to have. Regardless of the fact that you’re 56 years old. Don’t go there. Just breathe, and appreciate.

10 thoughts on “Tha-RILLED today… :)

  1. lydiaa1614

    I remember Joanne and can hear her saying that. I am Tha-RILLED for you. You are an encouragement to me. Just try to stick with 5 – I know the temptation to try for more and the let down when you think you can’t. You did good! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Quixie

    I love this! I know how hard it is to function many times and then when you do you feel like it’s not enough. That’s my life. I’m very proud if you and you should be too. Go Kat!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

