Of Blog Tours and More, Part II

This is the blog tour referred to in my re-blog yesterday. I’d love to invite you to join my blog tour which is going to be the grandest event, coming to your town, this May/June! So gear up, people! I’m looking for 4 or 5 of you to join, so let me know! Feel free to email me at kbailey374@gmail.com if you would prefer!
Please don’t be shy or think you’re not good enough! You are, trust me! If you’re not technically a “writer,” that’s fine too; you’re a blogger! Own it! This is a great way to get your blog known and also to help your friends’ blogs to get out there!
I want to thank Theya Catalan of A Caffeinated Blog for inviting me to join her on this blog tour!
Let’s start with the Rules: Pass the tour on up to four of your own bloggers. Give them the rules and a specific Monday to post (although that is open, as long as you finish by the end of June). Answer the four questions below about your creative process, that lets other bloggers and visitors know what inspires you to do what you do. Compose a one-time post on a specific Monday. Again, I am not too worried about the “when.” Just make sure that everybody links back to me, so I can read everyone’s blogs!
1. What am I working on at the moment?
I am working on a Christian historical novel, set in Portland Maine in the 1850’s. Twenty year old Bridget Purcell hops on a train to go cross country from Oregon to take care of her aunt, who has broken a leg and is bedridden – and very demanding! But Bridget has a kind and patient demeanor and gets along with almost anyone – so she thinks. On the train she meets Josiah and Thomas, who also live in Portland. Josiah is an architect who is most awkward and annoying, and Thomas is an inventor who hopes to work for Josiah’s boss.
2. How does my work differ from others in my genre?
I’m hoping that this book will be exciting as well as informative. It’s been fun to write so far and I’ve already learned a lot, myself. My characters have surprised me more than once! It is a Christian novel, but it’s not preachy – just clean and entertaining!

Christian historical is also not my only genre. My first two books are contemporary. Stay tuned for more information!
3. How does my writing and creative process work?
I find that I do well having friendships with other writers who have various levels of expertise as writers, both beginners and experienced, published writers. We compare techniques with one another and cheer one another on. Sometimes we just chat and relax in between chapters. We even set the timer sometimes and do word sprints, and you’d be surprised what comes out when you are not trying to be “great!” Sometimes the creative part of me just wants to let loose!
I can write at any time of the day, but I need plenty of coffee on board! I also do better if I don’t give away too much of the story before it is polished and pretty, and pretty much ready to roll.
My writing used to be quite autobiographical. Now it has just a few personal touches that make me giggle, as if I have a secret.

.
4. Why do I write?
From the time I could read, I wanted to write. As a child I kept journals, and when I couldn’t find the words, I would draw. I made little books of stories and gave them to my mother. I wrote poetry full of angst and pain when I was much younger. Now I just like to develop characters who live unique lives and situations; they become real to me, and, I hope, will become real to you as well.
Writing is definitely an escape, a wonderful visitation with other worlds and different lives. It is a way to travel and dream, all without leaving my house!
Now, I’d like to nominate following fellow bloggers:
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
Ah, this is where you come in. If you wish to participate, and I hope that you do, please answer the 4 questions listed above that I’ve answered. You can also add answers to your own questions if you wish!
Please let me know if you’d like to “play!”

3 thoughts on “Of Blog Tours and More, Part II

  1. kbailey374 Post author

    You know what I love is that I am such a great writer (cough cough), but this post is just so awkward, and I can’t get the formatting to work! Oh well…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

